Saturday, November 29, 2008

WalMart 'til the day I die....

there are so many things wrong with this story....

VALLEY STREAM (WABC) -- A Wal-Mart employee died and four others were hurt in the Black Friday rush to get into the Valley Stream store this morning.

The injuries occurred as the shoppers crammed into the Wal-Mart when the doors opened at 5 a.m.

Police said the shoppers knocked the man to the ground at 5:03 a.m., three minutes after the store opened.

A 34-year-old Wal-Mart employee suffered an apparent heart attack and was rushed to a nearby hospital, where he was pronounced dead.


First off, and not to be a dick, but does "Black Friday" really make that much of a difference on the prices at WalMart? Isn't this the same place which claims 'the lowest price is the law'??
Or maybe that is Zellers...
Either way, I am astonished that such a mass crowd of people would even think about lining up for a store like WalMart..., unless of course they had a clown making balloon animals or something...

Also, why the rush people? Was there a limited edition sweater-set combo available for the fastest 100 people through the turnstiles?
According to the reports, the doors opened at 5am, and the deceased was knocked down at 5:03am....
It seems a little sketchy to me, almost as if this was a targeted attack..., cause of course we need to have a conspiracy theory attached.

Finally, and albeit sadly, how does a 34-yr old man, that gets knocked down, die of a heart attack?
I could see someone crushed or smothered, but a heart attack?
Guessing the gentleman wasn't in the best of shape, or perhaps all that darned excitement was just too much.

Another reason, if you needed one, to avoid working at WalMart.

target="_blank"

Sunday, November 23, 2008

how rude....

'how rude'...., how's about how is this news?!
shame on media sites for picking this up, and especially Canoe for its choice of running this as a feature off its homepage....





if i were reporting on this -

...and finally, in the who gives a shit news, looks like psuedo-celeb from 1990 Jodie Sweetin will be starring in a new show called "Empty House" after her rock solid 16-month marriage ended this past week.
for the former child um, star, this is now her 2nd breakup in as many years, after kicking a nasty little meth addiction.....kids these days.
i can only imagine how her life could have been different if only she had a twin, and of course some talent.

Speaking of which.....

Mary Kate and Ashley Olsen walk into a bar.
they say to the bartender "give us two ass hurts"
the bartender says "how do you make an ass hurt?"
the Olsen twins say "well, Bob Saget hands you a chocolate milk that he just made, and you wake up 3 hours later, lying on your stomach...."

i'm here all week :)

Wednesday, November 12, 2008

a dog named cat stevens

gooood mooorning viet...
meh..too easy.....
yes folks, here I am, reporting from sunny Vietnam...
it's apparent I'm not at the beach, as I blog it, waiting for a ride to the airport back to Saigon...(Ho Chi Minh City, if you're down)...
i won't bore you with the play by play, for the many out there that tend to detail out (see brag) their hourly report of a trip you can't help but feel distant from.

i will tell you that i got a massage yesterday, and well, i loved it! :)
to be honest, i'm not much of a massage guy back home.
but well, there's something about being over here, the ocean as a backdrop, that compels one to feel the need for a little rubbing...
now, before your mind runs wild, let me stop you short...(hehe)..
it wasn't one of 'those' massages...my girlfriend can attest to that in the bed next to me...
no matter - i really did enjoy it, although i did feel like the little Vietnamese girl was taking out some sort of frustration on me - as she flat out was pummeling me at times. and she couldn't have been more than 80 lbs.....bless her heart...

that's it for now from the lone star country....
rest assured, i am keeping it real over here, not eating McDonalds...
(in actual fact, they do not have McDonalds over here..., just KFC).
I think it's 'cause Ho Chi Minh resembles a certain chicken man...
you be the judge...




Xin chào!

Monday, November 3, 2008

the soup

my kinda show..., if you haven't seen it, I recommend it.
it basically sums up 90% of weekly television for what it really is - the same old bullshit: all day, everyday.
this of course being reality TV.
there is seriously nothing else on anymore.

the soup does an amazing job pulling out the very best of the worst on TV.
and then, just let the LOLs begin...

here's a little sample -

Wednesday, October 29, 2008

jumping the shark


Volume 1 - How does one jump the shark?
i don't claim to be an expert, per se, on the jumping of the shark....
however, barely a day goes by where i don't claim that someone/something has indeed jumped the shark...
i've been referencing shark jumping for quite some time now.., and strangely, i'm not really tired of it...
maybe it's because the kids never picked up on it...
maybe it's just a stupid term that I won't let go...
(or maybe, it, and thus I, have jumped the shark....!)
don't go there, girlfriend...

so, back to the shark tank...

my most recent case of the jump off came 9/10 of the way through the last book i read...
and for those that know me well...., i pick up a good book as often as i pick up around the house... (am I right, honey....??)

i was at the tail end of The Kite Runner, and to be honest, it was a pretty good book.
slow at first, but it certainly picked up - not only an interesting story, but a unique perspective into growing up in Afghanistan....
if you plan on reading it, i'd click over to a Romo post right about now...

towards the end of the book, the main character has grown up, living in the USA now, and heads back to Afghanistan to eventually search for his illegitimate nephew.
ok... i guess that happens from time to time...
oh, and i forgot to mention that his childhood servant friend turned out to be his half brother...who was sexually assaulted by a bully classmate...
well, wouldn't you know it - when our main character goes to rescue the boy in Afghanistan, who do you think had stolen the young illegitamate nephew...
that's right, the bully rapist...., who ends up beating our main character to a pulp until the illegitimate nephew steps in and saves the day.
talk about irony.......
all i know is, the shark got jumped my friends, and it was a skim read from there on out.....
it's back to my SI subscription....

xoxo

Friday, October 24, 2008

my peeps, what are you waiting for...?


stop fighting it, and get on board....
if not for me, so be it..., but Romo is really starting to take this personally...
i'll give you another week, the chart best be rising....

re: stupid pet tricks....

i see lil' Romo has some competition apparently...
a sect of kitties who all like to chase black elastics...
and are all named Romo....

i thought the roof was romo's arch nemesis, but now I see....
it's actually The White Romo...
starring in "The Late Show Kitty Face-off".
these albino pussies have nothing on you, buddy....
this isn't over, not by a long shot...